Card Rulings:Gearfried the Iron Knight

97,424pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

OCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Butterfly Dagger - Elma: While "Morale Boost" is active, if you equip "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" to "Gearfried the Iron Knight", 1) Increase your Life Points for "Morale Boost", 2) destroy "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" with "Gearfried the Iron Knight"'s effect, 3) inflict damage for "Morale Boost" when "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is sent to the Graveyard, 4) the owner of "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" can return it to his/her hand.
  • Gearfried the Swordmaster: If you Tribute 1 "Gearfried the Iron Knight" to activate "Release Restraint", then chain "Serial Spell", you can Special Summon 2 "Gearfried the Swordmaster" cards from your Deck.
  • Release Restraint: If you do not have any copies of "Gearfried the Swordmaster" in your hand or Deck, you can still activate this card to Tribute "Gearfried the Iron Knight", but you will need to show your cards to your opponent to confirm.
  • Smoke Grenade of the Thief: This card must be destroyed directly for its effect to activate, such as with the effects of "Mystical Space Typhoon", "Heavy Storm", or "Gearfried the Iron Knight". Its effect does NOT activate if the monster it is equipped to is destroyed, Tributed, flipped face-down, or removed from the field.

Out of Date


  1. The latest errata of "Gearfried the Iron Knight" makes it clear that its effect is a Trigger Effect. This ruling could only be the case if it was a Continuous Effect.


  1. Konami FAQ: When "Blast with Chain" equips to "Gearfried the Iron Knight" at Chain Link 2 or higher, when does the effect activate?
  2. Konami FAQ: Spell Card > Release Restraint
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki