FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • The effect "● Equip 1 Union Monster on your side of the field to an appropriate monster on your side of the field as an Equip Spell Card." targets. (It targets 1 face-up Union monster in your Monster Zone.)[1]
  • If the effect "● Equip 1 Union Monster on your side of the field to an appropriate monster on your side of the field as an Equip Spell Card." is activated, there must be an appropriate equip target for that Union monster face-up in your Monster Zone, other than the targeted Union monster.[1]
  • It does not target "an appropriate monster on your side of the field".[1]
  • A Union monster that is equipped by the effect of "Union Hangar" cannot be Special Summoned that turn, not just by its own effect but also by the effects of other cards. Therefore, a Union monster equipped by the effect of "Union Hangar" cannot be Special Summoned with "Formation Union". (After this turn, you will be able to Special Summon the Union monster with "Formation Union" or its own effect.)[2]
  • Since Machine-Type monsters are the only appropriate equip targets for "Heavy Mech Support Platform", "Formation Union" cannot be used to equip it to a monster other than a Machine-Type monster.[4]
  • If "Raigeki Break" is activated targeting a "Y-Dragon Head" in the Monster Zone, but "Formation Union" is chained, and "Y-Dragon Head" becomes an Equip Card, the effect of "Raigeki Break" does not apply. Furthermore, if "Raigeki Break" is activated targeting an equipped "Y-Dragon Head" in the Spell & Trap Zone, but "Formation Union" is chained, and "Y-Dragon Head" is Special Summoned as a monster, the effect of "Raigeki Break" does not apply.[5]

Previously Official Rulings

  • The monster you equip the Union Monster to must be "appropriate", meaning the monster name written in the text of the Union Monster.
  • The Union Monster is considered to be equipped 'by its effect' so any bonuses the Union Monster grants are granted if equipped with "Formation Union".
  • If the player who would control the Union Monster already has 5 monsters on the field, you cannot activate "Formation Union" and choose the second effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Formation Union
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a Union monster equipped by the effect of "Union Hangar" be Special Summoned by "Union Formation"?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a Union monster equipped by the effect of "Union Rider" be targeted by "Union Formation"?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Heavy Mech Support Platform" be equipped to a non-Machine-Type monster by "Union Formation"?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Union Formation" is activated in chain to "Raigeki Break" targeting a Union monster, how is this resolved?
  6. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  15. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.