FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • This card cannot be activated unless both players have 15 or more cards in their Graveyard. (It can be activated even if there are Fusion, Synchro or Xyz Monsters in the Graveyard.)[1]
  • This card does not target.[1]
  • "each player swaps the cards in their Graveyard with the cards in their Deck" and "shuffles their Deck" are considered to happen simultaneously.[1]
  • This card can be activated even if 1 player has no cards in their Deck, as long as both players have 15 or more cards in their Graveyard. In this case, no cards are placed in the Graveyard and all cards from the Graveyard are shuffled into the Deck.[2]
  • When swapping the Decks and Graveyards, you cannot change the order of cards in the Graveyard.
    • If you have 5 cards in the Deck, ABCDE, from top to bottom, then after "Exchange of the Spirit" resolves, the card A will be placed in the bottom of the Graveyard, followed by the cards BCDE. (Card E that was at the bottom of the Deck is now at the top of the Graveyard.)[5]
  • When resolving "Exchange of the Spirit", even if either player has 14 or less cards in their Graveyard, the effect is applied normally.[7]

Previously Official Rulings

  • You need 15 cards in your Graveyard to activate “Exchange of the Spirit”. If you have exactly 15 and the opponent chains “Disappear” to remove from play 1 of those cards, “Exchange of the Spirit” was already activated correctly so it will resolve correctly.

Out of Date


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Exchange of the Spirit" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which makes it clear that the opponent must also have at least 15 cards in their Graveyard. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Exchange of the Spirit".

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Exchange of the Spirit
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: If either player has 0 cards in their Deck, can "Exchange of the Spirit" be activated?
  3. 3.0 3.1 Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Exchange of the Spirit", if the effect of "Macro Cosmos" or "Dimension Fortress Weapon" is being applied, what happens?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Exchange of the Spirit", if "Dandylion" is placed in the Graveyard, what happens?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Exchange of the Spirit", after swapping the Deck and Graveyard, what happens to the order of cards in the Graveyard?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Exchange of the Spirit", if there are Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monsters in the Graveyard, what happens?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Exchange of the Spirit", if either player has 14 or less cards in their Graveyard, what happens?
  8. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  17. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.