FANDOM


TCG Rulings

  • This effect targets 1 face-up monster your opponent controls.[1]
  • If either "Elemental Hero Gaia" or the targeted monster is not on the field when this effect resolves, the effect is not applied.[1]

OCG Rulings

  • "Must be Fusion Summoned and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways" is not treated as an effect.[2]
  • The effect "When this card is Fusion Summoned: Target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; until the End Phase, its ATK is halved and this card gains the same amount of ATK" is a Trigger Effect. (It always activates when "Elemental HERO Gaia" itself is successfully Fusion Summoned. This effect targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent's Monster Zone.)[2]
  • "until the End Phase, its ATK is halved" and "this card gains the same amount of ATK" are treated as resolving at the same time.[2]
  • The targeted monster that has been affected by "until the End Phase, its ATK is halved" has its ATK on the field cut in half. (Also, "Elemental HERO Gaia" itself also gains ATK equal to that halved amount.)[2]
  • At the time the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" resolves, if the targeted face-up monster the opponent controls has been changed to face-down Defense Position (such as due to the effect of "Book of Moon"), the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" is not applied.[3]
  • At the time the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" resolves, if the "Elemental HERO Gaia" itself that activated its effect has been changed to face-down Defense Position (such as due to the effect of "Book of Moon"), only the targeted monster's ATK is halved. (The ATK of "Elemental HERO Gaia" is not increased.)[4]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Elemental HERO Core: The effect "When this card is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can target 1 Level 8 or lower "Elemental HERO" Fusion Monster in your Graveyard; Special Summon it, ignoring its Summoning conditions" of "Elemental HERO Core" allows you to ignore the Summoning conditions of the targeted monster, but it must have been Fusion Summoned and then sent to the Graveyard. An "Elemental HERO Gaia" that was sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of "Success Probability 0%" cannot be Special Summoned with the effect of "Elemental HERO Core".[6]
  • Elemental HERO Core: Since the effect "When this card is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can target 1 Level 8 or lower "Elemental HERO" Fusion Monster in your Graveyard; Special Summon it, ignoring its Summoning conditions" of "Elemental HERO Core" ignores the Summoning conditions of the targeted monster, it can target and Special Summon an "Elemental HERO" Fusion Monster like "Elemental HERO Gaia" etc. that states "Must be Fusion Summoned and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways".[7]

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Konami Gameplay FAQ: Ancient Prophecy -- Card Rulings (version 1.0)
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Elemental HERO Gaia
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: If the opponent's monster targeted by the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" is in face-down Defense Position at the time the effect resolves, is the effect still applied?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: At the time the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" resolves, if the "Elemental HERO Gaia" that activated its effect is itself in face-down Defense Position, is the effect still applied?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Contrast HERO Chaos" be Fusion Summoned by "Miracle Fusion"?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: Can an "Elemental HERO" Fusion Monster that was sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of "Success Probability 0%" be Special Summoned by the effect of "Elemental HERO Core"?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a monster like "Elemental HERO Gaia" that "Must be Fusion Summoned and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways" be targeted by the effect of "Elemental HERO Core"?

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.