Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Divine Wrath

Talk11
77,510pages on
this wiki

TCG Rulings

Mention in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card cannot be chained to effects that activate in the Main Deck.[1]

Versus Specific Cards

  • Freed the Matchless General: The effect of "Freed the Matchless General" can only be activated when you draw during your Draw Phase. Suppose you control two copies of "Freed the Matchless General". If you activate the effect of one copy, then you cannot activate the effect of the second copy in a new Chain after the first one resolves, since the activation timing is no longer correct. Thus, if you activate the effect of one copy and its activation and effect are negated by "Divine Wrath", then you cannot activate the effect of the second copy after "Divine Wrath" resolves, since the activation timing is no longer correct.[8]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • During the Damage Step, in general, you cannot activate Spell/Trap Cards other than Counter Trap Cards and ATK/DEF-increasing/decreasing effects. Thus, you cannot activate "Book of Moon" nor "Raigeki Break", but you can activate the Counter Trap "Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step.[15]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If you activate "Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step to destroy the attacking monster or the monster being attacked, the monster is destroyed. No replay occurs because a replay can only happen during the Battle Step. If damage calculation has not been performed yet, it is not performed.[16]
  • You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Vampire Lord" or "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" activate their effects in the Graveyard, and their effects are negated and they are not Special Summoned; but because they cannot be "destroyed" while in the Graveyard, they are not destroyed by a card effect so their effect will not activate again.[16]
  • You can activate "Divine Wrath" when a "LV" monster is sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon the next level version (an Ignition Effect [sic]), and "Divine Wrath" will negate that effect, even though it cannot destroy the "LV" monster because it is already in the Graveyard.[16]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Video Game Rulings

Notes

  1. The newest errata of "Raging Flame Sprite" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its second effect is a Trigger Effect and not a Continuous Effect.
  2. Due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority, Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window as this ruling implies.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" be activated during the Damage Step?
  2. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" be activated during the Damage Step?
  3. Konami FAQ: When the activation of the effect of "Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn" is negated, can other monsters declare attacks?
  4. Konami FAQ: Does the effect which removes from play "Dark Magician of Chaos" begin a chain (for "Divine Wrath")?
  5. 5.0 5.1 Konami FAQ: If "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" is active and "Ehren, Lightsworn Monk" attacks a Flip Effect monster, then is the Flip Effect negated?
  6. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" activates in the Extra Deck, can "Divine Wrath" be activated?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: Can "Divine Wrath" (etc) be activated when "Exodia the Forbidden One" (etc) are in the hand?
  8. Konami FAQ: If you control two copies of "Freed the Matchless General" and "Divine Wrath" negates the activation of the effect of one copy, then can the effect of the other "Freed the Matchless General" be activated?
  9. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" which negates the effects of an Effect Monster activates, does it start a Chain Link?
  10. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Stardust Dragon" be activated in Chain to the activation of a Counter Trap Card?
  11. Konami FAQ: When "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" does not negate the activation of the effect of a card, can it Special Summon itself during the End Phase?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can "Divine Wrath" be activated if "Sun Dragon Inti" is in the Extra Deck?
  13. 13.0 13.1 Konami FAQ: Can "Sword Master" be Special Summoned if the attacked monster is destroyed by an effect after damage calculation?
  14. 14.0 14.1 Konami FAQ: The effect of "The Fabled Unicore" can negate an opponent's card if the hand sizes are the same at what time?
  15. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate Quick-Play Spell Cards, Counter Trap Cards, and so on during the Damage Step?
  16. 16.00 16.01 16.02 16.03 16.04 16.05 16.06 16.07 16.08 16.09 16.10 16.11 16.12 16.13 16.14 16.15 16.16 16.17 16.18 16.19 16.20 UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  17. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  26. Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's World Championship 2010: Reverse of Arcadia: Glossary > Divine Wrath

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki