FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card targets 1 face-up Fusion Monster in your Monster Zone or your opponent's Monster Zone.[1]
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step. The resolution of "return that target to the Extra Deck" and "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." are not considered to happen at the same time.[1]
  • The resolution of "return that target to the Extra Deck" is always applied, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." is optional.[1]
  • The resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied unless all the Fusion Materials that were used for the Fusion Summon are in the Graveyard of the player who activated "De-Fusion".[1]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Masked HERO Koga: "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting "Masked HERO Koga". "Masked HERO Koga" is returned to the Extra Deck, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied. (The monster targeted by "Mask Change" is not treated as a Fusion Material.)[3]
  • The Eye of Timaeus: An "Amulet Dragon" Fusion Summoned by the effect of "The Eye of Timaeus" is Fusion Summoned using only "Dark Magician" as a Fusion Material instead of the Fusion Materials required for a regular Fusion Summon ("Dark Magician" + 1 Dragon-Type monster). "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting "Amulet Dragon", but in that case, only the resolution of "return that target to the Extra Deck" is applied. (The resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.)[4]
  • Chimeratech Overdragon: If you activate "De-Fusion" by targeting a "Chimeratech Overdragon" that was Fusion Summoned using 6 Fusion Materials, "Chimeratech Overdragon" is returned to the Extra Deck, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied. (Even if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, if "Chimeratech Overdragon" was Fusion Summoned using 6 or more Fusion Materials, you do not have enough free Monster Zones, and the resolution of "Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.)[10]
  • Fullmetalfoes Alkahest: When the monster effect "equip that target to this card" of "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" resolves, if the "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" itself that activated the effect has been returned to the Extra Deck and is no longer on the field (such as due to "De-Fusion"), the targeted monster cannot be equipped, so the targeted monster is sent to the Graveyard and the effect ends.[15]
  • Red Gardna: When the opponent activates a Spell/Trap or monster effect, even if the effect will not be applied to a "Red Dragon Archfiend" monster in your Monster Zone (such as "De-Fusion" or "Drop Off"), the effect of "Red Gardna" in your hand can be activated. (The effect "this turn, monsters you control cannot be destroyed by your opponent's card effects" is applied as normal.)?[18]

Previously Official Rulings

  • After you attack with a Fusion Monster, you may activate "De-Fusion" in the End Step of the Battle Phase to Special Summon the appropriate Fusion Material Monsters and attack with them in the same Battle Phase.
  • If you activate "De-Fusion" and select a Fusion Monster that was Special Summoned by "Magical Scientist" or "Metamorphosis" you can return the Fusion Monster to the owner's Extra Deck, but cannot Special Summon any Fusion Material Monsters since none were used.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge List Rulings


Notes


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: De-Fusion
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Can you Special Summon the Fusion Materials if "De-Fusion" is activated on a Fusion Monster Special Summoned by "Monster Reborn"?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting "Masked HERO Koga"?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting an "Amulet Dragon" that was Fusion Summoned by the effect of "The Eye of Timaeus", what happens?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: If you activate "De-Fusion" on a Fusion Monster which used as a Material an "Elemental HERO Prisma" whose name changed, then what happens?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: After "Beast-Eyes Pendulum Dragon" is Special Summoned using its own procedure, if "De-Fusion" is activated, what happens?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting "Invoked Elysium", what happens?
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a "Proto-Cyber Dragon" in the Graveyard be Special Summoned by the effect of "De-Fusion"?
  9. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting "Ritual Beast Ulti-Apelio"?
  10. Konami OCG Card Database: If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting "Chimeratech Overdragon", what happens?
  11. Konami OCG Card Database: After "Blue-Eyes Twin Burst Dragon" is Special Summoned using its own procedure, if "De-Fusion" is activated, what happens?
  12. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "Frightfur Tiger", if "Frightfur Tiger" is no longer on the field, what happens?
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting a "Doom Virus Dragon", "Mirror Force Dragon", or "Tyrant Burst Dragon" that was Special Summoned by the effect of "The Fang of Critias"?
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon", what happens?
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the monster effect of "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" that equips a targeted monster, if "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" itself is no longer on the field when it resolves, how does it resolve?
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting "Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer"?
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: After "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" targeted a Gemini monster with the effect "until the end of this turn, this card's name becomes that monster's original name, and replace this effect with that monster's original effects.", can it be targeted by "De-Fusion"?
  18. Konami OCG Card Database: When the opponent activates a Spell/Trap or monster effect, even if the effect will not be applied to a "Red Dragon Archfiend" monster in your Monster Zone, can the monster effect of "Red Gardna" be activated?
  19. UDE Judge List: The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion vs De-Fusion
  20. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  29. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.