TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

  • Starlight Road: You can only activate Starlight Road if the effect that is activated will destroy 2 or more cards you control (per the card text). Even though Dark Hole has the potential to destroy up to 5 cards you control, if it is only destroying 1, you cannot activate Starlight Road.[3]

OCG Rulings

  • You cannot activate a card if it would do nothing. For example, you cannot activate "Dark Hole" if there are no monsters on the field.[4][5]
  • If multiple cards are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, then the player can choose the order in which those cards are placed in the Graveyard. If "Dark Hole"/"Painful Choice"/etc send multiple cards to the Graveyard, then after you sent the cards to the Graveyard, "Dark Hole" is sent to the Graveyard last.[6]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Sangan: If each player has a "Sangan" sent to the Graveyard simultaneously by "Dark Hole" etc, the two form a Chain and you resolve backwards. The Turn Player's "Sangan" is Chain Link 1, and the opponent's is Chain Link 2. If each player has four pieces of "Exodia" in his hand, then Chain Link 2 resolves first and the opponent is declared the winner before Chain Link 1 resolves.[11]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: DARK HOLE vs. GRANDMASTER - KIZAN -YAICHI!!!!
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Scrap Dragon taken by oponnent and destroyed by his card
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: starlight road v heavy/torrential/dark hole+
  4. Konami FAQ: [Basic Rules] Can you activate a Spell/Trap Card if you cannot apply its effect?
  5. Konami FAQ: When there is no valid target, is it possible to activate "Hammer Shot"?
  6. Konami FAQ: When multiple cards are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, can you choose the order in which they are placed in the Graveyard?
  7. Konami FAQ: If "Acid Trap Hole" is Chained to "Dark Hole" and targets and flips "Cyber Jar", how does it resolve?
  8. Konami FAQ: Is a monster destroyed by "Dark Hole" removed from play by "Banisher of the Light"?
  9. Konami FAQ: When a face-down "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" is destroyed, can it be placed in your Spell & Trap Card Zone as a Continuous Spell Card?
  10. Konami OCG FAQ: Who wins the Duel if both players use the effect of "Sangan" to complete "Exodia the Forbidden One"?
  11. Konami FAQ: If both players' "Sangan"s activate simultaneously and both complete "Exodia the Forbidden One", who is the winner?
  12. Konami FAQ: When you control multiple "Six Samurai" monsters and "Torrential Tribute" etc destroys all of them, can the substitution effect be applied?
  14. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.