FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • This card's effect can activate if it is destroyed during the Damage Step.[1]
  • If this card is destroyed while it was Set and sent to the Graveyard, then its effect starts a Chain Link.[2]
  • The opponent selects one of the two effects when the effect resolves.[2]

Previously Official Rulings

  • This card is only activated if sent from the field to the Graveyard. There is no way to activate this card while it is Set on the field.
  • You cannot choose an effect you cannot fulfill, so if you have no cards in your hand, you cannot choose to discard for "Dark Coffin".

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Ojamagic: Since a Spell Speed 1 effect cannot be chained to a Spell Speed 2 effect, and "Ojamagic" is a Normal Spell Card, if "Ojamagic" is sent to the Graveyard simultaneously with a Spell Speed 2 card that activates in the Graveyard, like..."Dark Coffin", then "Ojamagic" is the first chain link, and the Trap Cards will be the second and third chain links.


References

  1. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] When a face-down "Statue of the Wicked" is destroyed in the Damage Step, does its effect activate?
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Dark Coffin
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  12. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.