FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions Other Rulings

  • Solidarity: If you only have Warrior-Type monsters in your Graveyard and non-Warrior-Type monsters on the field are being treated as Warrior-Type by “DNA Surgery,” the ATK boost will apply to the monsters on the field.

OCG Rulings

Versus Activation/Application Requirements

  • Alien Brain: "Alien Brain" can be activated when a monster is sent to the Graveyard only if the monster is a Reptile-Type monster both when it is destroyed on the field and when it is sent to the Graveyard. Thus, if the monster's Type is not treated as Reptile while the monster is on the field because of an effect like "DNA Surgery", or if the monster's Type is not treated as Reptile while the monster is in the Graveyard, then you cannot activate "Alien Brain".[1]

Versus Costs

Versus Resolutions

  • Kasha: If a non-Zombie-Type monster's Type is changed to "Zombie" by the effect of "DNA Surgery" and is returned to the Deck by the effect of "Kasha", then it is not counted as a Zombie-Type monster being returned to the Deck. The ATK of "Kasha" will be 1000x the number of monsters returned to the Deck whose Types were originally "Zombie".[13]

Miscellaneous

In Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • D. Tribe: When this card and "DNA Surgery" are both active on the field, whichever one resolved last will dominate.
  • Electric Virus: If "DNA Surgery" is chained to this effect, so that the target's Type changes before this effect resolves, then the effect is not applied.
  • Electric Virus: If "DNA Surgery" is activated later in the turn, after this effect has already resolved, it has no effect on the resolution of this effect. (Control does not instantly change back. Control changes back as normal at the end of the turn.)
  • Marionette Mite: If "DNA Surgery" is chained to this effect, so that the target's Type changes before this effect resolves, then the effect is not applied.
  • Marionette Mite: If "DNA Surgery" is activated later in the turn, after this effect has already resolved, it has no effect on the resolution of this effect. (Control does not instantly change back. Control changes back as normal at the end of the turn.)
  • Puppet Plant: If "DNA Surgery" is chained to this effect, so that the target's Type changes before this effect resolves, then the effect is not applied.
  • Puppet Plant: If "DNA Surgery" is activated later in the turn, after this effect has already resolved, it has no effect on the resolution of this effect. (Control does not instantly change back. Control changes back as normal at the end of the turn.)
  • Rivalry of Warlords: When "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, and you change the Type of all of your monsters with "DNA Surgery"...you now only have 1 Type so you are OK and no monsters are destroyed [sic], and you can also Summon, Flip Summon, and Special Summon additional monsters that do not have that printed Type on the card and they will be considered that Type and are not destroyed [sic].[Notes 1]
  • Winged Minion: If the Fiend-Type monster that was selected for this card's effect is changed into a different Type, by the effect of "DNA Surgery" for example, it retains the 700 point ATK and DEF increase.

Judge List Rulings


Notes

  1. Monsters sent to the Graveyard by "Rivalry of Warlords" due to their Type are not destroyed.

References

  1. Konami FAQ: Can "Alien Brain" be activated if the destroyed monster is not a Reptile-Type when it is on the field or in the Graveyard?
  2. Konami FAQ: Can you equip a Dragon-Type monster to "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" with the effect of "Dragunity Primus Pilus"?
  3. Konami FAQ: Does "Gigantic Cephalotus"' ATK raise when a non-Plant Monster is sent to the Graveyard while being a Plant Monster because of "DNA Surgery"?
  4. Konami FAQ: When "Hyper Synchron" is used as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Monster that becomes a Dragon-Type monster by "DNA Surgery", is it removed from play in the End Phase?
  5. Konami FAQ: If a monster whose Type is not Machine while it is on the field or in the Graveyard is destroyed by battle, then can the effect of "Machina Armored Unit" be activated?
  6. Konami FAQ: Can you activate the effect of "Magicat" when it is used as a Synchro Material for a Synchro Monster whose Type becomes Spellcaster by the effect of "DNA Surgery"?
  7. Konami FAQ: When a monster whose Type is Zombie by the effect of "DNA Surgery" is destroyed by "Red-Eyes Zombie Dragon", can it be Special Summoned?
  8. Konami FAQ: Is the effect of "Solidarity" applied when a card effect makes all monsters on your field and in your Graveyard the same Type?
  9. Konami FAQ: Can you Special Summon a monster whose Type had been changed when it was Tributed to Summon "Spawn Alligator"?
  10. Konami FAQ: Will the effect of "Strong Wind Dragon" activated when the monster which was Tributed was changed to a Dragon-Type monster by the effect of "DNA Surgery"?
  11. Konami FAQ: When a monster's Type has been changed by "DNA Surgery", can you put a "Flower Counter" on "The World Tree"?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can "Chimeratech Fortress Dragon" be Special Summoned by sending "Vanity's Fiend" which is a Machine-Type Monster to the Graveyard?
  13. Konami FAQ: If monsters which is a Zombie-Type monster because of "DNA Surgery" is returned to the deck by the effect of "Kasha", then what is the ATK of "Kasha"?
  14. Konami FAQ: When "Zombie World" has been activated, can Life Points be recovered by "Metaphysical Regeneration"?
  15. Konami FAQ: Can the Type "Divine Beast" be declared for "DNA Surgery"?
  16. Konami FAQ: When a second "Gravekeeper's Chief" is flipped while "Archfiend Zombie-Skull" is on the field, is it destroyed?
  17. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Zombie World" and "Archfiend Zombie-Skull" are on the field, is "Black Rose Dragon" destroyed by its own effect?
  18. 18.0 18.1 Konami FAQ: Does the ATK of "Elemental HERO Neos Knight" increase if something like a Token Monster was used as a Fusion Material?
  19. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Machine Duplication" by selecting a "Stronghold the Moving Fortress" that is treated as a Machine?
  20. Konami FAQ: When the ATK of "Turret Warrior" is raised, the increase is the monster's ATK at what time?
  21. Konami FAQ: When "Zombie World" and "DNA Surgery" are both active, which effect is applied?
  22. UDE Judge List: Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest Vs. face-downs, DNA Surgery
  23. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  29. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  30. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  31. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  32. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.