FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • "Change the Union Monster back to a monster in face-up Attack or Defense Position" and "Also, the monster that was equipped with the Union Monster may attack again this turn." are applied at the same time.[1]
  • Even if a Union monster was equipped by the effect of "Union Hangar", so that it cannot be Special Summoned this turn, if another Union monster was equipped by "Roll Out!", then "Combination Attack" can be activated. If "B-Buster Drake" is equipped to "A-Assault Core" by the effect of "Union Hangar", and in the same turn "C-Crush Wyvern" is also equipped to "A-Assault Core" by "Roll Out!", you can target "A-Assault Core" with "Combination Attack", and in that case, only "C-Crush Wyvern" will be Special Summoned and "A-Assault Core" is able to attack again ("B-Buster Drake" remains equipped to "A-Assault Core").[2]
  • If "Relinquished" is equipped with a Union monster by the effect of that "Relinquished", and that Union monster was not equipped by that Union monster's own effect, the effect of "Combination Attack" cannot be applied. Therefore, in this situation, "Relinquished" cannot be targeted by "Combination Attack".[3]
  • Union monsters that are equipped by the effect of "Union Hangar" cannot be Special Summoned that turn, not just by their own effects but also by the effects of other cards. If "B-Buster Drake" is equipped to "A-Assault Core" by the effect of "Combination Attack", "A-Assault Core" cannot be targeted with "Combination Attack".[4]
  • If 2 copies of "Heavy Mech Support Armor" are equipped by their own effects to a face-up "YZ-Tank Dragon" on your field and "YZ-Tank Dragon" has attacked, you can activate "Combination Attack" by targeting that "YZ-Tank Dragon". In that case, both copies of "Heavy Mech Support Armor" are Special Summoned, and "YZ-Tank Dragon" can attack again during this Battle Phase. It should be noted that you cannot activate "Combination Attack" unless you have enough available Monster Zones to Special Summon all of the equipped Union monsters. (For example, if you only had 1 available Monster Zone in this scenario, you would not be able to Special Summon both copies of "Heavy Mech Support Armor", so you cannot activate "Combination Attack".)[5]
  • If your opponent's "X-Head Cannon" equipped with "Y-Dragon Head" has attacked during this Battle Phase, since your opponent's "X-Head Cannon" is a monster that attacked during this Battle Phase and is equipped with a Union monster, you can activate "Combination Attack". In that case, "Y-Dragon Head" is Special Summoned to your opponent's Monster Zone, and the targeted "X-Head Cannon" can attack again. It should be noted that the battle position that "Y-Dragon Head" is Special Summoned in is determined by the player who activated "Combination Attack".[6]

Previously Official Rulings

  • Both the equipped monster and the Union Monster can attack after "Combination Attack" is used, assuming the Union Monster was Special Summoned in face-up Attack Position.
  • You can use this effect on an equipped monster on your opponent's side of the field that has attacked. Your opponent's monster can then attack again as per "Combination Attack"'s effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce: If "Dark Blade" equipped with "Kiryu" is also equipped with "Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce", and attacks twice, and "Kiryu" is then "detached" with "Combination Attack", "Dark Blade" can attack 1 more time (not 2 more times).


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Combination Attack
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Combination Attack" be activated by targeting a Machine-Type monster that is equipped with both a Union monster equipped by the effect of "Roll Out!" and a Union monster equipped by the effect of "Union Hangar"?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Combination Attack" be activated by targeting a "Relinquished" that is equipped with a Union monster treated as an Equip Card by its own effect?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Combination Attack" be activated by targeting a a Machine-Type monster equipped with a Union monster by the effect of "Union Hangar"?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Combination Attack" be activated by targeting a Machine-Type monster equipped with 2 copies of "Heavy Mech Support Armor"?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Combination Attack" be activated by targeting an opponent's monster equipped with a Union monster?
  7. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  16. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.