Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Change of Heart

Talk2
76,232pages on
this wiki

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Bazoo the Soul-Eater: If you remove Monster Cards from your Graveyard to increase the ATK of "Bazoo the Soul-Eater", then on your opponent's turn he uses "Change of Heart" to gain control of the same "Bazoo the Soul-Eater", your opponent can remove cards from his Graveyard to further increase the ATK. The ATK increase you caused will end during that End Phase, and the ATK increase your opponent caused will end during your End Phase.
  • Creature Swap: A player may activate "Change of Heart" to gain control of an opponent's monster, and then activate "Creature Swap" and select that monster to return to the opponent. At the end of the turn, the monster targeted by "Change of Heart" does not switch sides again since it is already on the owner's side of the field.
  • Ectoplasmer: If you Tribute your opponent's monster that you controlled with..."Change of Heart", your opponent takes the damage even though it was their monster.
  • Fatal Abacus: It is the owner of the Monster Card that takes the damage, so if you control your opponent's monster through the effect of "Change of Heart" and Tribute it, your opponent takes the 500 points of damage.
  • Griggle: If your opponent uses "Change of Heart" on a face-down "Griggle" and Flip Summons it, when it returns to you during the End Phase, its effect activates and your opponent will gain 3000 Life Points.
  • Last Turn: "Last Turn" is a very special Trap Card with very special and unusual rules. The most important thing to understand about "Last Turn" is that not all of its effects are applied when the Trap Card resolves. When "Last Turn" (the Trap Card itself) resolves, the activating player selects 1 monster on their side of the field, and all other cards on the field and in both players' hands are sent to the Graveyard. That is all that happens when "Last Turn" resolves. After that, the turn player Special Summons 1 monster from their Deck. After that, a special Battle Phase occurs. Then, during the End Phase, the victory check of "Last Turn" is applied. "Last Turn" sets up several effects that resolve later in the turn long after the Trap Card itself has resolved. Several other cards do this too, like "Last Will" and "Change of Heart".
  • Last Turn: "Last Turn" as a chain to "Change of Heart": Suppose the turn player activates "Change of Heart" and the opponent chains "Last Turn", then the opponent selects the monster targeted by "Change of Heart" for "Last Turn" (since it's still on his side of the field, as "Change of Heart" hasn't resolved yet). Then "Change of Heart" resolves and the turn player gains control of the monster, then Special Summons for "Last Turn". There is no special Battle Phase. Assuming that the opponent somehow survives the standard Battle Phase, during the End Phase, the turn player has priority to activate and resolve an effect. If the turn player activates and resolves "Change of Heart", then the monster goes back to the opponent and (assuming nothing else has happened), both players each have 1 monster and the result is a DRAW. If the turn player passes priority to the opponent, the opponent can activate and resolve the effect of "Last Turn" before "Change of Heart", and in this case the turn player still has 2 monsters and the opponent has zero, so the turn player would win. If the turn player passed priority to the opponent and the opponent passes it back, the turn player MUST activate and resolve an effect, so the effect of "Change of Heart" would expire and both players would have 1 monster each, resulting in a DRAW.
  • Lost Guardian: Example: Player A controls 2 monsters. Player B activates "Change of Heart" to take control of one of them, then activates "Different Dimension Gate" to remove both from play. Both monsters are in Player A's "removed zone" while removed from play (so Player A's "Lost Guardian" would have 1400 DEF). When "Different Dimension Gate" is destroyed, the monster Player B took control of will return to Player B's side of the field (if possible, if not it is destroyed) before returning to Player A's side of the field.
  • Mirage Dragon: The effect of this monster makes the opponent of this monster's current controller unable to activate Trap Cards during the Battle Phase. If you take control of your opponent's monster with "Change of Heart" during your turn, your opponent cannot activate Trap Cards during your Battle Phase, but you can.
  • Pitch-Black Warwolf: The effect of this monster makes the opponent of this monster's current controller unable to activate Trap Cards during the Battle Phase. If you take control of your opponent's monster with "Change of Heart" during your turn, your opponent cannot activate Trap Cards during your Battle Phase, but you can.
  • Revival Jam: If you activate "Change of Heart" to take control of "Revival Jam", and it is sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle, the owner (not you) gets the option to pay 1000 Life Points to Special Summon "Revival Jam" to their side of the field.
  • Scapegoat: If you control 2 monsters and your opponent activates "Change of Heart" to gain control of one and you later activate "Scapegoat" your monster will be destroyed during the End Phase if all 5 of your Monster Card Zones are still occupied.
  • Spirit Reaper: "Spirit Reaper" is only destroyed by its own effect if it is face-up on the field when the effect designating it as a target activates, AND after the effect designating it as a target resolves... If a face-down "Spirit Reaper" is targeted with "Change of Heart", then Flip Summoned, it is not destroyed because it was face-down when "Change of Heart" was activated. If "Spirit Reaper" is targeted by the effect of "Relinquished", "Spirit Reaper" is an Equip Spell Card after the effect of "Relinquished" resolves, so it is not destroyed...
  • The Secret of the Bandit: This card's effect targets a monster, so you select the target at the activation of the card. You may select a monster on the opponent's side of the field. If you target an opponent's monster, and then take control of it with "Change of Heart" and attack and do Battle Damage to your opponent, they will discard a card. If you target an opponent's monster, and attack that monster with a weaker monster, causing Battle Damage to yourself, no one will discard a card. The monster targeted by your "The Secret of the Bandit" must deal Battle Damage to the opponent's Life Points for the effect to activate.
  • Winged Kuriboh: Because the effect of "Winged Kuriboh" activates in the Graveyard, it is the original owner that will get the effect. So if the opponent took control with "Change of Heart"...if it is destroyed then it goes to the original owner's Graveyard and they get the effect.
  • Zolga: When your opponent takes your "Zolga" with "Change of Heart" and Tribute Summons with it, your opponent (the controller of "Zolga" when it was Tributed) increases his Life Points.

UDE FAQ

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki