FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • The card "Chain Material" itself does not have an effect that Fusion Summons. The turn that "Chain Material" is activated, when "Polymerization" etc. is activated and performs a Fusion Summon, you can apply the effect "you can remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on the Fusion Monster Card, and use them as Fusion Material Monsters". (You can also Fusion Summon normally, without applying it.)[2]
  • If you apply the effect "you can remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on the Fusion Monster Card, and use them as Fusion Material Monsters", you choose and banish the whole chosen set of Fusion Materials using this effect. (You cannot apply the effect to only 1 of the Fusion Materials in the set.)[2]
  • Applying "If you used this effect for a Fusion Summon, the Summoned Fusion Monster is destroyed during the End Phase" does not make a Chain Link.[2]
  • If you activated "Chain Material", even when Fusion Summoning with the effect of "Super Polymerization" or "Fusion Gate" you can apply the effect of "Chain Material" to banish Fusion Materials from your hand, Deck, field, and/or Graveyard. Also, when Fusion Summoning with the effect of "Super Polymerization" by applying "Chain Material", you cannot banish a monster on your opponents field as a Fusion Material.[3]
  • The Fusion Materials required to Fusion Summon "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" are 2 DARK monsters on the field, except Tokens. Therefore, even if you apply the effect of "Chain Material" when Fusion Summoning "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon", you must use Fusion Materials on your side of the field. (You cannot use monsters in your hand, Deck, or Graveyard for the Fusion Summon.)[6]
  • If you are Fusion Summoning using the Pendulum Effect of "Performapal Trump Witch", you can apply the effect of "Chain Material". In this case, "you can remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on the Fusion Monster Card, and use them as Fusion Material Monsters", but "the Summoned Fusion Monster is destroyed during the End Phase". Furthermore, because in the case in this question "Chain Material" has been activated, "You cannot attack during the turn this card is activated." is being applied.[7]
  • When resolving the effect of "D/D Swirl Slime" in the hand, you can apply the effect "you can remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on the Fusion Monster Card, and use them as Fusion Material Monsters" of "Chain Material". Even in this case, you must use the activated "D/D Swirl Slime" as one of the Fusion Materials. (All Fusion Materials are banished, also the effect "You cannot attack during the turn this card is activated. If you used this effect for a Fusion Summon, the Summoned Fusion Monster is destroyed during the End Phase" is applied.)[8]
  • When resolving "Destruction Swordsman Fusion", you can apply the effect of "Chain Material". In that case, you choose and banish the Fusion Materials from your hand, your Deck, your field, and your Graveyard. You cannot use monsters on your opponents field as Fusion Materials.[10]
  • When resolving "Particle Fusion", even if the Fusion Materials are banished, when the monster is Fusion Summoned you can target a banished Fusion Material. Additionally, when resolving "Particle Fusion", you can also apply the effect of "Chain Material".[11]
  • When resolving the effect of "D/D Necro Slime" in the Graveyard, you can apply the effect "you can remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard, Fusion Material Monsters that are listed on the Fusion Monster Card, and use them as Fusion Material Monsters" of "Chain Material". Even in this case, you must use the activated "D/D Necro Slime" as one of the Fusion Materials. (All Fusion Materials are banished, also the effect "You cannot attack during the turn this card is activated. If you used this effect for a Fusion Summon, the Summoned Fusion Monster is destroyed during the End Phase." is applied.)[12]
  • You can apply the effect of "Chain Material" when resolving "D-Fusion". Even if this case, because you are Fusion Summoning using "D-Fusion", the Fusion Materials you choose and banish from your hand, Deck, field, and Graveyard must be "Destiny HERO" monsters.[13]
  • The effect of "Chain Material" can be applied when resolving the effect of "Parallel World Fusion". Furthermore, you do apply the effect, you banish Fusion Materials from your hand, field, Deck, and Graveyard. (In that case, you may not Fusion Summon the Fusion Monster using the method "by shuffling your banished Fusion Materials listed on it into your Deck".)[14]
  • If the effect of "Chain Material" is applying, when resolving the effect of "Metalfoes Fusion", rather than choosing and sending to the Graveyard monsters from your hand or field, you can Fusion Summon using "remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard". In that case, you cannot apply the effect "You can use monsters you control equipped to this card you control as Fusion Materials for the Fusion Summon of a "Metalfoes" Fusion Monster that lists them as Materials." of "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" and include equipped monsters as Fusion Materials.[15]
  • If you resolve the effect of "Odd-Eyes Fusion" without applying the effect of "Chain Material", you can use Fusion Materials from your field or hand for the Fusion Summon. At this time, in the case that "your opponent controls 2 or more monsters and you control no monsters", you can also choose monsters in your Extra Deck. (Even in this case, because you activated Chain Material this turn, you cannot attack.) Furthermore, if you apply the effect of Chain Material, because you choose Fusion Materials by applying "remove from play, from your side of the field, Deck, hand or Graveyard", this time even if "your opponent controls 2 or more monsters and you control no monsters", you cannot use monsters from your Extra Deck. (In this case, since you Fusion Summoned by applying the effect of "Chain Material", the Fusion Monster is destroyed during the End Phase of this turn.)[16]

Previously Official Rulings

  • You cannot choose to remove 1 Fusion Material Monster from play while sending the other Fusion Material Monsters to the Graveyard.


References

  1. Konami Gameplay FAQ: Duelist Revolution Sneak Peek -- Card Rulings (Version 1.0)
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Chain Material
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: When Fusion Summoning with "Fusion Gate" or "Super Polymerisation", can Fusion Materials be banished from the Deck or Graveyard with "Chain Material" and from the opponent's field?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "The Eye of Timaeus", can I apply the effect of "Chain Material"?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "The Fang of Critias" or "The Claw of Hermos", if I activated "Chain Material" this turn, can I apply its effect?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: When Fusion Summoning "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon", can the effect of "Chain Material" be applied?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: If you are Fusion Summoning using the Pendulum Effect of "Performapal Trump Witch", can you apply the effect of "Chain Material"?
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "D/D Swirl Slime" in the hand, can you apply the effect of "Chain Material"?
  9. Konami OCG Card Database: When Fusion Summoning with "Soprano the Melodious Songstress", can the effect of "Chain Material" be applied?
  10. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "Destruction Swordsman Fusion", can "Chain Material" be applied?
  11. Konami OCG Card Database: If the Fusion Materials used by "Particle Fusion" are banished, can you target the banished monster?
  12. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "D/D Necro Slime" in the Graveyard, can you apply the effect of "Chain Material"?
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "D-Fusion", can you apply the effect of "Chain Material"?
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: During a turn in which "Chain Material" has been activated, can you activate "Parallel World Fusion" and Fusion Summon other than by returning banished monsters to the Deck?
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Metalfoes Fusion", if "Chain Material" has been activated, can you use monsters equipped to "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" as Fusion Materials?
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "Odd-Eyes Fusion", if the effect of "Chain Material" is applying, how does it resolve?
  17. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  26. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.