FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • You can chain to this card's effect.[1]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If your opponent uses "Monster Reborn" to Special Summon a monster from your Graveyard, you get to draw a card.
  • Drawing a card for this card's effect is optional, so if you use "Call of the Haunted" when you have no cards left in your Deck you do not lose the Duel.

Judge List Rulings

  • "Card of Safe Return's" effect is an optional Trigger Effect that starts a Chain link, so if you Special Summon a monster from your Graveyard in the middle of resolving a Chain, you cannot activate "Card of Safe Return's" effect.[5]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World / Sillva, Warlord of Dark World: If "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" is discarded by your opponent's card effect, when his effect resolves, he is Special Summoned first, and then the second part of his effect resolves. ... you could not draw a card for the effect of "Card of Safe Return".
  • Manticore of Darkness: If "Card of Safe Return" is active, and "Manticore of Darkness" is Special Summoned with its effect, you can draw a card. So with 2 "Manticores of Darkness", 1 of them sent to the Graveyard, and "Card of Safe Return" in play, you can draw as many cards as you want.
  • Molten Zombie: When you Special Summon "Molten Zombie" and you have "Card of Safe Return", either effect can be Step 1 of the chain; your choice.
  • Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys: If "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is Special Summoned by its effect during the Standby Phase, and "Card of Safe Return" is on the field, "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is Step 1 of the chain and "Card of Safe Return" is Step 2, so "Card of Safe Return" resolves first and you draw a card before "Card of Safe Return" is destroyed.
  • Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower: If you have "Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower" and "Card of Safe Return", and a Zombie-Type monster is Special Summoned, "Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower" is Step 1 of the chain and "Card of Safe Return" is Step 2.
  • Twin-Headed Behemoth: When "Twin-Headed Behemoth" is Special Summoned by its own effect you can activate "Card of Safe Return" and draw 1 card.
  • Valkyrion the Magna Warrior: If you have "Card of Safe Return" active on the field when you Tribute "Valkyrion the Magna Warrior" to Special Summon the Magnet Warriors, you draw only 1 card.


References

  1. Konami FAQ: Spell Cards > Card of Safe Return
  2. Konami FAQ: When "Cold Wave" is activated, can the effects of "Ultimate Offering" or "Card of Safe Return" be activated?
  3. 3.0 3.1 Konami FAQ: When a monster is Special Summoned in the middle of resolving a Chain, can you draw by the effect of "Card of Safe Return"?
  4. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can the effect of "Card of Safe Return" be activated during the Damage Step?
  5. UDE Judge List: Heavy Storm is followed by...
  6. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  15. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.