Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier

99,547pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk5 Share

TCG Rulings

  • Discarding cards to the Graveyard is a cost.[1]
  • If 1 or more of the targeted cards are removed from the field before the effect resolves, the rest will still be returned to the owner’s hand.[1]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Machina Fortress: When this card is targeted by an opponent’s Effect Monster’s effect, you look at the opponent’s hand and discard 1 card from it immediately before resolving the effect of the Effect Monster. For example, if “Machina Fortress” is targeted by your opponent’s “Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier” you first decide whether or not you want to Chain any effects. Then, when you go to resolve the effect of Brionac, first look at your opponent’s hand and discard 1 card from it. Finally, resolve Brionac’s effect and return “Machina Fortress” to your hand.
  • Supervise: If you send a monster equipped with “Supervise” to the Graveyard as a Synchro Material Monster for “Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier,” the effect to Special Summon 1 Normal Monster will activate immediately after Brionac is Summoned. You will not be able to activate Brionac’s effect until the Chain resolves.

Judge Program Forum Rulings

Out of Date

OCG Rulings

  • Discarding any number of cards to the Graveyard is a cost to activate its effect.[3]
  • This effect targets cards your opponent controls equal the number of cards you discarded as a cost.[3]
  • It can target monsters, Spell Cards, and Trap Cards your opponent controls.[3]
  • Even if 1 of the cards targeted by the effect of "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" is no longer on the field when the effect resolves, the remaining cards are still returned to the hand.[4]
  • While the effect of "Dimensional Fissure" is applying, Monster Cards are banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard, but Spell/Trap Cards are sent to the Graveyard normally. In this case, if the effect of "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" is activated, you must discard Spell/Trap Cards to the Graveyard as a cost. (You cannot discard Monster Cards to the Graveyard as a cost.)[5]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Notes

  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.

Out of Date

  1. This is no longer correct due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority. Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami Gameplay FAQ: Hidden Arsenal – Card Rulings (Version 1.0)
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Stumbling
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: When multiple cards are targeted by the effect of "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier", if 1 of the targeted cards is no longer on the field when the effect resolves, what happens?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: While the effect of "Dimensional Fissure" is applying, can the effect of "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" be activated?
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Your opponent discards from his hand by the effect of "Machina Fortress" at what time?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: If multiple copies of "Machina Fortress" are targeted, then how many cards are discarded from your opponent's hand?

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.