FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent's Monster Zone that can be Normal Summoned/Set.[1]
  • Even if a monster was Special Summoned by the effect of "Monster Reborn", that monster can be targeted by "Brain Control" as long as that monster can be Normal Summoned/Set.[1]
  • Paying 800 Life Points is a cost to activate this card.[1]
  • If you gain control of an opponent's monster with a card like "Brain Control" or "Enemy Controller" and then the monster is flipped face-down by an effect like "Book of Moon", then the effect of "Enemy Controller" is still applied, and control of the monster still returns back to your opponent during the End Phase.[2]
  • If you gain control of an opponent's monster with an effect like "Brain Control" or "Enemy Controller" and then the monster is banished by "Interdimensional Matter Transporter", then after the monster returns to the field during the End Phase, your opponent still regains control of the monster. Also, if the monster is banished by "Dimensionhole", then during the Standby Phase the monster returns to the opponent's side of the field.[3]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Dimensionhole: If you control your opponent's monster with "Brain Control" ... and you remove it from play with "Dimensionhole", during your following Standby Phase when the monster is returned to your side of the field it is immediately moved to your opponent's side of the field.
  • Time Machine: If you activate "Time Machine" when your monster that is being controlled by your opponent is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, when "Time Machine" resolves your monster is Special Summoned onto your opponent's side of the field. If your opponent had taken control of the monster with "Brain Control", etc., it will remain under your opponent's control and will not return to your side of the field in the End Phase.


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Brain Control" has Problem-Solving Card Text that states that it can only take control of face-up monsters that can be Normal Summoned/Set. (This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Brain Control".) Since "Tuner's Scheme" can only take control of Synchro Monsters, control of the same monster cannot be changed by both "Tuner's Scheme" and "Brain Control".

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Brain Control
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: If a monster whose control you gained by the effect of "Enemy Controller" is flipped face-down, then does it still return to the opponent during the End Phase?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: When a monster whose control you gained by an effect like "Enemy Controller" is banished, does the monster return to the field of its original owner?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Brain Control" be activated by targeting an "Embodiment of Apophis" that is treated as a Monster Card?
  5. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  14. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.