Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Book of Moon

Talk11
74,769pages on
this wiki

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Star Blast: If a monster affected by “Star Blast” is face-up on the field, and is then flipped face-down (with “Book of Moon”, etc.) then the effect of “Star Blast” is wiped and the monster’s Level returns to normal.

OCG Rulings

  • You cannot activate this card during the Damage Step.[1]

In Chain to an Effect which Targets

  • Elemental HERO Gaia: If "Book of Moon" is activated in chain to the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia", so that the targeted face-up monster the opponent controls is face-down at the time of the resolution of the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia", the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" is not applied.[5]

On Monsters Remembering/Forgetting How they were Summoned

  • Mosaic Manticore: If "Mosaic Manticore" is flipped face-down by "Book of Moon" and then flipped face-up before the next Standby Phase after it was Tribute Summoned, then its effect will activate as long as it is still face-up during the Standby Phase.[21]

On Monsters which Must Remain Face-Up

  • Elemental HERO Gaia: If "Book of Moon" is activated in chain to the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia", so that at the time of the resolution of the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" that "Elemental HERO Gaia" has been flipped face-down, only the ATK of the targeted monster is halved. The ATK of "Elemental HERO Gaia" is not increased.[24]

On Removing Lingering Effects

  • Rekindling: If a monster is Special Summoned by "Rekindling" and then flipped face-down by an effect like "Book of Moon", then the effect of "Rekindling" is no longer applied, so the monster will not be removed from play during the End Phase.[51]
  • Totem Dragon: If "Totem Dragon" is flipped face-down by an effect like "Book of Moon" after it is Special Summoned by its own effect, then the effect "remove it from play when it is removed from the field." is no longer applied as soon as "Totem Dragon" is flipped face-down. Afterwards, "Totem Dragon" will not be removed from play if it is removed from the field.[54]
  • Worm Yagan: After "Worm Yagan" Special Summons itself from the Graveyard, if it is flipped face-up and then face-down by an effect like "Book of Moon", then as soon as it becomes face-down the effect "When this card is removed from the field, it is removed from play." no longer is applied, so it will no longer be removed from play if it is removed from the field.[55]
  • Worm Zero: If "Worm Zero" is flipped face-down by an effect like "Book of Moon", then its ATK becomes 0 and the effects which it acquired disappear. If "Worm Zero" is then flipped face-up, then its ATK will remain at 0, and its effects are not re-applied.[56]

On Setting Monsters whose Control Changed

On Setting Referenced Monsters

  • Inferno Reckless Summon: If cards like "Book of Moon" or "Raigeki Break" is Chained to "Inferno Reckless Summon" so that neither player has any face-up monsters at resolution, then neither player Special Summons monsters with the same name. If only your opponent has monsters, then your opponent still Special Summons monsters with the same name, even though you do not have any face-up monsters. If only you have monsters, then only you Special Summon monsters with the same name.[64]

Versus Activation Conditions

Miscellaneous

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • During the Damage Step, in general, you cannot activate Spell/Trap Cards other than Counter Trap Cards and ATK/DEF-increasing/decreasing effects. Thus, you cannot activate "Book of Moon" nor "Raigeki Break", but you can activate the Counter Trap "Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step.[77]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Allure Queen LV3: If "Book of Moon" is chained to the activation of "Allure Queen LV3's" effect to turn the "Allure Queen" face-down, then the monster that was targeted is destroyed. It cannot be equipped to a face-down monster.
  • Grave Ohja: If "Grave Ohja" is attacked, and you activate "Book of Moon" to flip another monster on your side of the field face-down, "Grave Ohja" has already been selected as the attack target so the attack proceeds as normal.

Judge List Rulings

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

Notes

  1. The latest errata of "Big Shield Gardna" makes it clear that its effect is a Quick Effect. This ruling could only be the case if it was a Continuous Effect.
  2. The latest errata of "Dark Paladin" states that it must be face-up on the field to resolve its effect.

References

  1. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can you activate "Book of Moon" during the Damage Step?
  2. Konami FAQ: If "Book of Moon" is Chained to "Sakuretsu Armor", then is the attacking monster destroyed?
  3. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Earthbound Immortal Uru", if the monster was turned face-down, then can you gain control of it?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami OCG FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Effect Veiler", if the targeted monster is face-down, then do you negate its effects?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Book of Moon" is activated in chain to the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia", so that the "Elemental HERO Gaia" that activated the effect is flipped face-down, is the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" still applied?
  6. Konami FAQ: Is the effect of "Give and Take" applied when the monster is not on the field?
  7. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Level Eater", if the targeted monster's Level cannot be lowered by one, then can it be Special Summoned?
  8. Konami FAQ: When resolving "Machine Duplication", if the targeted monster is not face-up on the field, then can you Special Summon monsters of the same name from your Deck?
  9. Konami FAQ: When the attack cannot be negated, does "Scrap-Iron Scarecrow" set itself with its effect?
  10. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Shiny Black "C"", if the Synchro Monster was flipped face-down, then can it be destroyed?
  11. Konami FAQ: When resolving "Shock Troops of the Ice Barrier", if the WATER monster is not on the field, then do you apply the effect which adds to your hand?
  12. Konami FAQ: When resolving "Test Tiger"'s effect, if the targeted monster is not face-up on the field, is the effect applied?
  13. Konami FAQ: When resolving "Tragoedia"'s effect, if the target is flipped face-down, can you still gain control of the target?
  14. Konami FAQ: If the monster is face-down when resolving the effect of "Transforming Sphere", then does it get equipped?
  15. Konami FAQ: If the monster is face-down when resolving "Tuner's Scheme", then can you still gain control?
  16. Konami FAQ: Can "Underground Arachnid" equip itself if the targeted monster is face-down at resolution?
  17. Konami FAQ: Is the effect of "Widespread Dud" still applied if one of the monsters is not face-up on the field when resolving the effect?
  18. Konami FAQ: When "Genex Neutron" is Summoned, if at one time "Genex Neutron" was face-down, can you still activate the effect?
  19. Konami FAQ: Can "Koa'ki Meiru Tornado" destroy a monster which was Special Summoned face-down?
  20. Konami FAQ: When "Majestic Mech - Senku" or "Majestic Mech - Ohka" is flipped face-down, is it sent to the Graveyard?
  21. Konami FAQ: When "Mosaic Manticore" is Tribute Summoned and then at one point is face-down, can the Tributed monsters be Special Summoned?
  22. Konami FAQ: Can "Synchro Strike" target a Synchro Monster which was face-down at one point?
  23. Konami FAQ: If there are no Fairy-Type monsters on the field when resolving the effect of "Court of Justice", then can you Special Summon from your hand?
  24. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Book of Moon" is activated in chain to the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia", so that the "Elemental HERO Gaia" that activated the effect is flipped face-down, is the effect of "Elemental HERO Gaia" still applied?
  25. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of a monster like "Jain, Lightsworn Paladin", if it is not face-up on the field, then are cards still sent from the Deck to the Graveyard?
  26. Konami FAQ: If "Naturia Barkion" is not face-up on the field when resolving its effect, then can it negate the Trap Card?
  27. Konami FAQ: Does "Naturia Beast" negate the effect of a Spell Card if it is not face-up on the field when its effect resolves?
  28. Konami FAQ: If "Naturia Exterio" is not face-up on the field at resolution, then is the activation of the Spell/Trap Card negated?
  29. Konami FAQ: If "Naturia Landoise" is not face-up on the field when resolving its effect, then can it negate the activation of a monster's effect?
  30. Konami FAQ: When a card on the field is destroyed, will a face-down "Shiba-Warrior Taro" be returned to the hand?
  31. Konami FAQ: When a monster whose effect has been negated by "Ally of Justice Nullfier" is flipped face-down, is the monster's effect applied again?
  32. Konami FAQ: When a monster Special Summoned by "Assault Revival" is turned face-down, is it removed from play?
  33. Konami FAQ: If "Battle Fader" is flipped face-down after it is Special Summoned, then is it removed from play if it is removed from the field?
  34. Konami FAQ: If "Fusilier Dragon, the Dual-Mode Beast" or "Beast King Barbaros" are Normal Summoned without Tributes and then are flipped face-down, then what are its ATK and DEF?
  35. Konami FAQ: When the monster Special Summoned by "Blackwing - Shura the Blue Flame" is flipped face-down, is the Special Summoned monster's effect applied?
  36. Konami FAQ: If the Synchro Monster Special Summoned by "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor" is flipped face-down, then are its effects applied?
  37. Konami FAQ: What happens to the ATK of "Cyber Eltanin" when it is flipped face-down or when its effect is negated?
  38. Konami FAQ: When "Light End Dragon" etc is flipped face-down or removed from the field, what happens to the decreased ATK/DEF?
  39. Konami FAQ: If a Ritual Monster that was Summoned by using monsters like "Djinn Releaser of Rituals" is flipped face-down, then is the effect no longer applied?
  40. Konami FAQ: When a monster Special Summoned by "Doomkaiser Dragon/Assault Mode" is at one time face-down, is the Special Summoned monster's effect applied?
  41. Konami FAQ: If a Synchro Monster is flipped face-down after it used "Eccentric Boy" as a Synchro Material Monster, then are its effects still negated?
  42. Konami FAQ: If "Elemental HERO Neos Knight" is flipped face-down, then what does its ATK become?
  43. Konami FAQ: If a monster Special Summoned by the effect of "Fire Ant Ascator" is flipped face-down, then are the effects of the Special Summoned monster applied?
  44. Konami OCG FAQ: After you increase the Level of "Flelf", if it becomes face-down or is banished, then does the Level return to its original value?
  45. Konami FAQ: If "Hundred Eyes Dragon" is flipped face-down after gaining an effect, then what happens to the gained effect?
  46. Konami OCG FAQ: If a monster Special Summoned by "Infernity Archfiend" becomes face-down, then can it attack (etc.)?
  47. Konami FAQ: When "Montage Dragon" is flipped face-down, or when its effect is negated, what does his ATK become?
  48. Konami FAQ: Does it start a Chain when the monster Special Summoned by "Morphtronic Scopen" is destroyed?
  49. Konami FAQ: Please explain the details of "Numbing Grub in the Ice Barrier's" effect.
  50. Konami FAQ: When a monster is flipped face-down after its ATK is increased by "Overdoom Line", does its ATK return to the original value?
  51. Konami FAQ: When a monster affected by "Rekindling" is flipped face-down, is it removed from play during the End Phase?
  52. Konami FAQ: If a monster Special Summoned by "Synchro Change" is flipped face-down, then are its effects now applied?
  53. Konami FAQ: If a "The Fabled Ganashia" which was flipped face-down is removed from the field after it was Special Summoned by its effect, then is it removed from play?
  54. Konami FAQ: If "Totem Dragon" becomes face-down after it is Special Summoned by its effect, then is it removed from play when it is removed from the field?
  55. Konami FAQ: When a Special Summoned "Worm Yagan" which has become face-up becomes face-down, then is it removed from play when it leaves the field?
  56. Konami FAQ: When "Worm Zero" is flipped face-down, are its ATK and its effects which it gained no longer applied?
  57. Konami FAQ: If a monster whose control you gained by the effect of "Enemy Controller" is flipped face-down, then does it still return to the opponent during the End Phase?
  58. Konami FAQ: After gaining control of a monster by the effect of "Tuner's Scheme", if the monster is flipped face-down, then is control of the monster returned?
  59. Konami FAQ: If a monster whose control you gained via the effect of "Reptilianne Viper" no longer has 0 ATK or is flipped face-down, then does control of it return to the opponent?
  60. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Genex Ally Duradark", if the "Genex Ally Duradark" which activated its effect has become face-down, then is the opponent's monster destroyed?
  61. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Blackwing - Silverwind the Ascendant", if "Blackwing - Silverwind the Ascendant" or a targeted monster is not face-up on the field, then is the effect applied?
  62. Konami OCG FAQ: If "De-Synchro" is activated against a Synchro Monster which became face-down and then face-up, then can you Special Summon the Synchro Material Monsters?
  63. Konami FAQ: If "Fabled Gallabas" is not face-up on the field at resolution, is the monster destroyed?
  64. Konami OCG FAQ: If there are no longer any face-up monsters when resolving "Inferno Reckless Summon", then can you Special Summon monsters with the same name?
  65. Konami FAQ: If the attacking monster is not face-up when "Moon Dragon Quilla " resolves, then can you increase your Life Points?
  66. Konami FAQ: If there are no "Koa'ki Meiru" monsters when resolving "Core Blast", then can you destroy cards on the opponent's field?
  67. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Fortune Lady Water", is the effect still applied even if there are no other "Fortune Lady" monsters?
  68. Konami FAQ: If the monster attacking "Scrap Goblin" is no longer there, then is "Scrap Goblin" destroyed at the end of the Battle Phase?
  69. Konami FAQ: If "Worm Bait" is not face-up on the field when it resolves, then are the "Worm Tokens" still Special Summoned?
  70. Konami FAQ: When "Light End Dragon" etc is flipped face-down or removed from the field, what happens to the decreased ATK/DEF?
  71. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Fabled Raven", if it is not face-up on the field, then do you discard any number of cards from your hand?
  72. Konami FAQ: When resolving the effect of "Future Visions", is the Normal Summoned monster still removed from play if it is flipped face-down?
  73. Konami FAQ: If "Gandora the Dragon of Destruction" is face-down when resolving its effect, then is it destroyed?
  74. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Number 16: Shock Master" is not on the field when or after applying its effect, then can cards of the declared type be activated?
  75. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Summoner of Illusions" is face-down when resolving its effect, then can it be Tributed?
  76. Konami FAQ: [Tokens] Can "Book of Moon" be activated by targeting a Token Monster?
  77. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate Quick-Play Spell Cards, Counter Trap Cards, and so on during the Damage Step?
  78. Konami FAQ: Can "Book of Moon" or "The Shallow Grave" be activated if "Dark Simorgh" is on the field?
  79. Konami FAQ: [Priority] At the time of the Set of a card, can the Turn Player activate an Ignition Effect of a monster?
  80. Konami OCG FAQ: Do you place a Karakuri Counter on "Karakuri Anatomy" if a monster is changed from face-down to face-up or from face-up to face-down?
  81. Konami FAQ: If "Book of Moon" is activated and targeted "Spirit Reaper", then is the "Spirit Reaper" which is flipped face-down destroyed by its effect?
  82. UDE Judge List: Spirit Reaper
  83. UDE Judge List: Clarification on Zombie Master-effect negated?
  84. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  85. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  86. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  87. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  88. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  89. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  90. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  91. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  92. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  93. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki