Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Black Whirlwind

96,686pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk3 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

TCG Rulings

  • The effect of “Black Whirlwind” starts a Chain. If an effect is chained, so that the Summoned “Blackwing” monster is no longer face-up on the field when the effect of “Black Whirlwind” resolves, you cannot add a monster to your hand.[1]
  • Black Whirlwind” looks at the ATK of your newly-Summoned monster as it is on the field. If a Field Spell Card is increasing the monster’s ATK, you can search your Deck for a “Blackwing” monster that has less ATK than the increased ATK value.[1]
  • If you control multiple “Black Whirlwinds,” you can activate all of their effects. They form a single Chain, and you add 1 “Blackwing” to your hand as each one resolves.[1]
  • If control of the Summoned “Blackwing” monster shifts during or before resolution of “Black Whirlwind,” you can still add a card to your hand because you can still see the ATK.[1]

OCG Rulings

  • You cannot add a monster to your hand that has the same ATK as the Normal Summoned monster.[2]
  • "Black Whirlwind" can only add to your hand a monster with less ATK than the ATK of the Normal Summoned monster. It cannot add a monster with equal ATK. When you Normal Summon "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind" and you do not have a monster with less than 1300 ATK in your Deck, then you cannot activate the effect of "Black Whirlwind".[5]
  • If you control multiple copies of "Black Whirlwind", then you can activate all copies as a chain when a "Blackwing" monster is Normal Summoned.[6]
    • Example: If you control two copies of "Black Whirlwind", then you can add two monsters to your hand when you Normal Summon a "Blackwing" monster.[6]

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami Gameplay FAQ: Raging Battle -- Card Rulings (version 1.2)
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami FAQ: Spell Card > Black Whirlwind
  3. Konami FAQ: With "Black Whirlwind", can you still add a card from your Deck to your hand if the Normal Summoned "Blackwing" monster is on your opponent's side of the field at resolution?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami FAQ: When adding a monster to your hand by the effect of "Black Whirlwind", at what time do you reference the ATK of the Normal Summoned monster?
  5. Konami FAQ: With the effect of "Black Whirlwind", can you add to your hand a monster with the same ATK as the ATK of the Normal Summoned monster?
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami FAQ: When multiple copies of "Black Whirlwind" are face-up on the field, can you add multiple cards to your hand with their effects?
  7. Konami FAQ: If the Normal Summoned "Blackwing" monster is not face-up on the field when resolving the effect of "Black Whirlwind", then can you add a card from your Deck to your hand?
  8. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Black Whirlwind" be activated when a "Blackwing" monster is Flip Summoned or Special Summoned?

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki