Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Black Garden

Talk1
72,716pages on
this wiki
Revision as of 09:57, May 22, 2012 by Flamebreath (Talk | contribs)

TCG Rulings

Email Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Halving ATKs and the "Rose Token"

  • When multiple monsters are Special Summoned simultaneously, "Black Garden" will halve the ATK of each of those monsters. However, only one "Rose Token" will be Special Summoned to the opponent's field. If each player Special Summoned monsters simultaneously, each player will get 1 "Rose Token" each.[5]
  • If "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field, the effect of "Black Garden" will still activate when a monster is Summoned. No "Rose Token" will be Special Summoned, but the monster's ATK still will be halved.[6]
  • When a monster is Summoned face-up, if the monster is face-down when "Black Garden"'s effect resolves, then you neither halve the monster's ATK nor Summon a "Rose Token".[7]

Halving ATKs

  • If "Black Garden"'s effect is no longer being applied (i.e. "Black Garden" is negated or is removed from the field), the monsters' ATKs are still halved.[9]

The "Rose Token"

On Destroying Plants and Special Summoning

  • This card's last effect destroys all monster on the field, including your opponent's field.[14]
  • "The combined ATK of the destroyed monster(s)"" means the combined total ATK while the monsters are on the field, including alterations from other effects like Equip Cards.[17]
  • When "Black Garden"'s last effect resolves, if the total ATK of all Plant-Type monsters is not the same as the ATK of the targeted monster, the monster is not Summoned.[15]

Miscellaneous

Previously Official Rulings

  • If a monster Normal or Special Summoned while “Black Garden” is active is flipped face-down, its ATK will no longer be halved.
  • If a monster is Special Summoned face-down, "Black Garden's" first effect still activates. The monster's ATK is not halved, but a "Rose Token" is still Special Summoned.
  • If "Black Garden's" second effect is activated and an effect is chained that removes it from the field, its effect disappears because it cannot be destroyed, and the face-up Plant-Type monsters on the field are not destroyed.
  • If "Black Garden's" second effect is activated and an effect is chained that changes the ATK of Plant-Type monster(s) on the field, the targeted monster in the Graveyard is not Special Summoned, but "Black Garden" and all face-up Plant-Type monsters on the field are still destroyed.
  • The “total ATK” of the destroyed Plant-Type monsters is equal to their combined ATK while on the field.
  • When a monster is Normal or Special Summoned, any Continuous Effects that increase or decrease the monster's ATK are applied before halving the monster's ATK with "Black Garden's" effect. For example, If "Command Knight" is Normal or Special Summoned, when "Black Garden" halves its ATK it also halves the ATK "Command Knight" gained from its effect. If "Burden of the Mighty" is active, the monster's reduced ATK is halved by "Black Garden".
  • If "Black Garden" is removed from the field or negated, the ATK of monsters whose ATK was halved remains halved.
  • If you control "Black Garden", when you activate "Scapegoat" the effect of "Black Garden" will activate after your "Sheep Tokens" are Special Summoned, but its effect will disappear. If instead, your opponent activates "Scapegoat", after they Special Summon their "Sheep Tokens" the effect of "Black Garden" activates, and when it resolves you will Special Summon the Rose Token.
  • If your opponent Normal or Special Summons a monster while you do not have any open Monster Zones, "Black Garden's" first effect still activates and halves the monster's ATK, but the "Rose Token" is not Special Summoned.
  • If you have a Gemini Monster on the field and you Normal Summon it to change it into an Effect Monster, "Black Garden's" first effect activates. It will halve the Gemini Monster's ATK and Special Summon a "Rose Token" onto your opponent's side of the field. If the Gemini Monster's ATK had already been halved by "Black Garden" when it was previously Normal or Special Summoned, it is halved again.
  • If "Vanity's Fiend" is face-up on the field when a monster is Normal Summoned "Black Garden's" first effect still activates. The Normal Summoned monster's ATK is halved, but the "Rose Token" is not Special Summoned.
  • If you activate "Black Garden's" second effect and an effect is chained that removes the targeted monster from your Graveyard, "Black Garden" and all face-up Plant-Type monsters on the field are still destroyed, but no monster is Special Summoned from your Graveyard.
  • If a monster has its ATK halved by "Black Garden", and afterwards its original ATK is halved by "Shrink", the monster's ATK becomes half its original ATK. When the effect of "Shrink" is no longer applied, the monster's ATK returns to its original ATK.
  • If a monster has its ATK halved by "Black Garden", and afterwards it is equipped with "Megamorph", its ATK will be equal to double its original ATK. If "Megamorph" is later negated or removed from the field, the monster's ATK will return to half its ATK (the same as it was before “Megamorph” was equipped).
  • If you and your opponent Special Summon monster(s) with the same effect, when "Black Garden's" effect resolves the ATK of each Special Summoned monster is halved, and 1 "Rose Token" is Special Summoned onto both you and your opponent's side of the field. If either player does not have an open Monster Card Zone, their opponent still gets a "Rose Token".
  • The player that Normal or Special Summoned a monster chooses which of their opponent's Monster Card Zones the "Rose Token" is Special Summoned into. The player that Normal or Special Summoned a monster is considered to be the "owner" of the "Rose Token".
  • If a monster that is unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards is Normal or Special Summoned, its ATK will not be halved by "Black Garden's" effect, but the "Rose Token" is still Special Summoned.
  • If a monster that is unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards is also a Plant-Type monster, it is not destroyed when "Black Garden's" second effect resolves, and its ATK is not included in the total ATK of the destroyed Plant-Type monsters.

Notes

  1. These Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.

References

  1. Pojo.biz: Konami Ruling Updates (Individual e-mail from Konami rulings support)
  2. Konami FAQ: Does the effect of "Black Garden" which Summons a "Rose Token" and halves the monster's ATK begin a chain?
  3. Konami FAQ: Does "Black Garden"'s effect activate even when there is no open Monster Card Zone?
  4. Konami FAQ: When the ATK of a monster like "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6" cannot be halved, will the effect of "Black Garden" still Special Summon a "Rose Token"?
  5. Konami FAQ: When "Black Garden" is on the field, how does it resolve when multiple monsters are Special Summoned simultaneously?
  6. Konami FAQ: Will the effect of "Black Garden" activate when you cannot Special Summon a "Rose Token" because of the effect of "Vanity's Fiend"?
  7. Konami FAQ: When resolving "Black Garden"'s effect, if the Summoned monster is not face-up, is the effect applied?
  8. Konami FAQ: When "Black Garden" is on the field, what happens when a monster is Special Summoned face-down?
  9. Konami FAQ: When "Black Garden"'s efect is no longer applied, does the monster's ATK stop being halved and return to the Original ATK?
  10. 10.0 10.1 Konami FAQ: If you Special Summon "Red-Eyes Darkness Dragon" while "Black Garden" is active, then what does its ATK become?
  11. 11.0 11.1 Konami FAQ: When a monster's ATK is halved by "Black Garden", when the effect of "Shrink" or "Megamorph" is applied, what is the monster's ATK?
  12. Konami FAQ: Who is the original owner of the "Rose Token"s?
  13. 13.0 13.1 Konami FAQ: If you Tribute monsters like "Zoma the Spirit" or a Token Monster to Summon "The Tyrant Neptune", then do its ATK and DEF increase?
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 Konami FAQ: Spell Card > Black Garden
  15. 15.0 15.1 Konami FAQ: With "Black Garden", when do you select the monster to be Special Summoned?"
  16. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is active, can you activate the effect of "Black Garden" which destroys monsters and Special Summons a monster from your Graveyard?
  17. Konami FAQ: For "Black Garden", does "the combined ATK of the destroyed monster(s)" mean the ATK while on the field or while in the Graveyard?
  18. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Black Garden" be negated by the effect of "Royal Oppression"?
  19. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki