|This card's OCG and TCG rulings contradict each other.
- Paying Life Points is a cost to activate “Attack of the Cornered Rat.” It targets the opponent’s monster.
- You cannot flip “Attack of the Cornered Rat” face-up during the Damage Step unless you would also activate its effect at the same time (by paying Life Points).
- You can activate “Attack of the Cornered Rat” (and/or its effect) during damage calculation, or at any point in the Damage Step prior to damage calculation.
- If “Attack of the Cornered Rat” is removed from the field [sic] before the End Phase, the ATK reduction remains until the End Phase, as normal.
- You can only activate the effect of “Attack of the Cornered Rat” once during the same Damage Step.
- You cannot over-pay for “Attack of the Cornered Rat.” If the opponent’s monster has 2000 ATK, you can pay up to 2000 Life Points, but no more.
- The activation of only the card "Attack of the Cornered Rat" can be performed at any time, except during the Damage Step.
- The effect "The ATK of the opponent's monster is reduced by the amount of Life Points you paid, until the End Phase." starts a Chain Link. (It targets the opponent's battling monster. Paying Life Points in multiples of 100 is a cost to activate this effect.)
- This effect can be activated from the start of the Damage Step until before damage calculation. (This effect can be activated in the same Chain Link as the activation of the card "Attack of the Cornered Rat".)
- This effect can only be activated once during each Damage Step. (If you control multiple copies of "Attack of the Cornered Rat", you can activate the effect of each card once.)
- Token Monsters are treated as Normal Monsters, so you can activate "Attack of the Cornered Rat" when a Level 3 or lower Token Monster battles.