Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Light and Darkness Dragon

Talk24
75,214pages on
this wiki

TCG Rulings

Email Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Having Multiple Attributes

On Negating Activations

On Destroying and Special Summoning

Mentions In Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • If the ATK and DEF of “Light and Darkness Dragon” are less than 500 when a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster is activated, the second effect of “Light and Darkness Dragon” will still activate but when it resolves it will not negate the activation of the Spell, Trap, or effect of the Effect Monster because its ATK and DEF cannot be reduced by 500.
  • Light and Darkness Dragon's” third effect is a Trigger Effect that activates whenever “Light and Darkness Dragon” is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. This effect targets 1 monster in its owner’s Graveyard. When “Light and Darkness Dragon’s” effect is resolved, you will destroy every card you control and then Special Summon the selected monster from your Graveyard.
  • If your “Light and Darkness Dragon” is the only card on your side of the field when it is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard, its effect to Special Summon 1 monster from your Graveyard will still activate, even though you control no cards.
  • If the monster you select to Special Summon is removed from the Graveyard in Chain (by using “D.D. Crow”, etc.), before resolving the effect of “Light and Darkness Dragon”, the selected monster will not be Special Summoned but you will still destroy every card that you control.
  • When “Light and Darkness Dragon” is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard while you have no monsters in your Graveyard that you can Special Summon, the effect of “Light and Darkness Dragon” will not Special Summon a monster but it will still destroy every card you control.
  • If “Light and Darkness Dragon” is removed from the field or flipped face-down, any loses of ATK and DEF from its effect are reset and will not be reapplied when it is returned to the field or flipped face-up.
  • If you cannot Special Summon a monster because of a card’s effect (“Scapegoat”, etc.) when “Light and Darkness Dragon” is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard you will not be able to Special Summon the selected monster but you must still destroy every card that you control.
  • When “Light and Darkness Dragonnegates the activation of a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster that can only be activated once per turn (“Blowback Dragon”, etc.), the Spell, Trap, or effect of the Effect Monster cannot be activated again because the Spell, Trap, or effect of the Effect Monster is treated as having been activated during that turn. If the effect of the Effect Monster can be activated multiple times during the same turn (“Treeborn Frog”, etc.), the effect of the Effect Monster can be activated again.
  • If the activation of “Destiny Hero - Dasher's” effect that Special Summons a monster is negated by “Light and Darkness Dragon”, the “Destiny Hero - Dasher” will not be able to activate the effect while it remains in the Graveyard. If it is removed from the Graveyard and then later returned to the Graveyard, it will be able to activate its effect once again.
  • When “Light and Darkness Dragon” negates the activation of a Spirit Monster's effect that would return it to its owner’s hand, the effect of the Spirit Monster activates again during the same End Phase. When the return effect of the Spirit Monster is activated during the End Phase while “Light and Darkness Dragon” has less than 500 ATK and DEF, the second effect of “Light and Darkness Dragon” will still activate, but it will not be able to negate the activation and the Spirit Monster will return to its owner's hand.
  • If “Light and Darkness Dragon” is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while being treated as an Equip Card, its third effect that Special Summons 1 monster will activate.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge List Rulings

  • If "Necrovalley" is acive [sic] on the field, the entire third effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" would be negated, so the player would not destroy every card they control or Special Summon the monster targeted in their Graveyard.[57]

Out of Date

Notes

  1. These Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. This card's latest errata states that the Special Summon and destroying the cards occur simultaneously. Therefore, the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" and "Infernal Dragon" will not miss the timing.

References

  1. Pojo.biz: Konami Ruling Updates (Individual e-mail from Konami rulings support)
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Light and Darkness Dragon
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Konami OCG Card Database: The effects of "Light and Darkness Dragon" are treated as what, and how do they resolve?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: When "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles with a monster with 2 or more Attributes and one is DARK, can it destroy the monster?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: While "Consecrated Light" is on the field, can you Normal Summon "Light and Darkness Dragon"
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: With "Gozen Match", will monsters with multiple Attributes like "Elemental Mistress Doriado" be sent to the Graveyard?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: When Synchro Summoning "Light End Dragon", can you use a monster with multiple Attributes as a Synchro Material Monster?
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Vylon Disigma" is equipped with multiple monsters by its own effect, how is its effect activated?
  9. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" be activated during the Damage Step?
  10. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" be activated more than once per Chain?
  11. Konami OCG Card Database: Does the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" negate itself?
  12. Konami OCG Card Database: When the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" resolves, if "Light and Darkness Dragon" is no longer on the field, what happens?
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: When a "Once per turn" effect is negated by "Light and Darkness Dragon", can it be activated again?
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: If you Tribute Summon "Light and Darkness Dragon" by Tributing "Sangan" and "Dandylion", how the effects resolve?
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: When "Light and Darkness Dragon" is flipped face-down or leaves the field, is the ATK and DEF still reduced?
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: If a Trap Card is activated while you control 2 or more copies of "Light and Darkness Dragon", what happens?
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of a Continuous Spell Card is negated by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon", does that Continuous Spell Card remain on the field?
  18. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Light and Darkness Dragon" negate the effect of a Continuous Spell/Trap Card or a Spell/Trap Card that activates in the Graveyard?
  19. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Light and Darkness Dragon" has less than 500 ATK and DEF, can its effects be activated?
  20. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" negate the effect of a monster like "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" which activates in the hand?
  21. Konami OCG Card Database: When "Airknight Parshath" battles with "Light and Darkness Dragon", if battle damage is inflicted, is the effect of "Airknight Parshath" applied?
  22. Konami OCG Card Database: With "Angel O7", do mandatory effects still activate?
  23. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation or the effect of "Bahamut Shark" is negated, can that "Bahamut Shark" attack during that turn?
  24. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" that banishes 1 monster on the field is negated, can that "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" attack during that turn?
  25. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Cardcar D" is negated by "Light and Darkness Dragon", can you Special Summon other monsters during the same turn?
  26. Konami OCG Card Database: While "Constellar Belt" is active, if "Honest" activates its effect on the field, can its activation be negated by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon"?
  27. Konami OCG Card Database: How do you resolve it when "Light and Darkness Dragon" and "Doomcaliber Knight" are both on the field?
  28. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Drill Warrior" which Special Summons it is negated, then can it be activated again during the same Standby Phase?
  29. Konami OCG Card Database: If the effect "Evilswarm Exciton Knight" is negated by "Skill Drain" or the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon", is the effect that reduces all damage the opponent takes to 0 still applied?
  30. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Evilswarm Ouroboros" is negated, then can you activate the same effect again?
  31. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Fire King High Avatar Garunix" that Special Summons itself from the Graveyard is negated by the effect of "Divine Wrath" or "Light and Darkness Dragon", can its effect be activated once again during the same Standby Phase?
  32. Konami OCG Card Database: When "Light and Darkness Dragon" is affected by "Forbidden Chalice", what does its ATK and DEF become?
  33. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Geartown" be activated if its activation is negated and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon"
  34. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation or the effect of "Hot Red Dragon Archfiend" is negated, can other monsters attack this turn?
  35. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" be activated if its ATK and DEF are changed by a Spell Card?
  36. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Meklord Emperor Granel" that Special Summons 1 Equip Card is negated by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon", then can you activate the effect again during the same turn?
  37. Konami OCG Card Database: At the end of the Battle Phase, if the effect of "Metaion, the Timelord" is negated, will the effect of "Metaion, the Timelord" activate again during that same Battle Phase?
  38. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Naturia Spiderfang" attack during a turn in which the activation of a Spell/Trap Card was negated?
  39. Konami OCG Card Database: If the effect of "Number 9: Dyson Sphere" that negates attacks has its activation negated by "Light and Darkness Dragon", can it be activated once again during the same Battle Step?
  40. Konami OCG Card Database: If you cannot gain control of a monster through the effect of "Number 11: Big Eye", then can it attack?
  41. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Number 39: Utopia" that destroys itself is negated by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" or "Justice Bringer", then does it activate again?
  42. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation or the effect of "Number 72: Shogi Rook" is negated, is the battle damage that your opponent takes that turn halved?
  43. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation or the effect of "Rank-Up-Magic - The Seventh One" is negated, can "Rank-Up-Magic - The Seventh One" be used again during the same Duel?
  44. Konami OCG Card Database: If the effect of "Reverse Trap" is being applied, if "Light and Darkness Dragon" effect that negates the activation is applied, will the ATK increase?
  45. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Shooting Star Dragon" that Special Summons itself be activated more than once?
  46. Konami OCG Card Database: With "Splendid Venus", is the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" applied?
  47. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Super Polymerization" is activated, can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" be activated in a Chain?
  48. Konami OCG Card Database: If the activation of the effect of "Triple Star Trion" is negated by "Light and Darkness Dragon", then can you activate it again during the same End Phase?
  49. Konami OCG Card Database: When the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" resolves, if all of your Monster Card Zones are unusable, what happens?
  50. Konami OCG Card Database: When the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" resolves, if the targeted monster is no longer in the Graveyard, what happens?
  51. Konami OCG Card Database: For "Light and Darkness Dragon", do the destruction and the Special Summoning occur simultaneously?
  52. Konami OCG Card Database: Can you Special Summon 1 monster from your Graveyard by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" even if you control no cards?
  53. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" be activated if it is destroyed while in the hand or Deck?
  54. Konami OCG Card Database: If a "Light and Darkness Dragon" equipped to "Dragunity Arma Leyvaten" is sent to the Graveyard, then can both effects activate?
  55. Konami OCG Card Database: While you control "Koa'ki Meiru Drago", if you have an EARTH and a LIGHT monster in your Grveyard, can you Special Summon a LIGHT monster from your Graveyard by the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon"?
  56. Konami OCG Card Database: Does the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increase by the total ATK and DEF?
  57. 57.00 57.01 57.02 57.03 57.04 57.05 57.06 57.07 57.08 57.09 57.10 57.11 57.12 57.13 57.14 57.15 57.16 57.17 57.18 Yu-Judges: Individual Card Rulings for "Light and Darkness Dragon"
  58. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  59. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  60. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  61. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  62. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  63. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  64. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  65. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  66. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  67. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki