Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Attack target

96,628pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Page Help0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Attack target

Japanese

こうげきたいしょう
Formerly: こうげきもくひょう

Japanese (ruby)

こうげきたいしょう
Formerly: こうげきもくひょう

Japanese (base text)

攻撃対象
Formerly: 攻撃目標

Japanese (romanized)

Kōgeki Taishō
Formerly: Kōgeki Mokuhyō

English

attack target

An attack target (Japanese: こうげきたいしょう Kōgeki Taishō) is either a player or monster designated for an attack.[1][Notes 1]

During the Battle Step, the turn player can declare an attack by targeting either an opponent's monster or the opponent themself. If a replay occurs, the turn player can select an attack target again (even if it is the same choice), potentially allowing for effects that activate upon a monster being targeted for an attack to activate again, such as that of "Vengeful Shinobi".

Some card effects can restrict a player's choice of attack target (such as that of "Marshmallon Glasses") or conduct battle with a monster without selecting it as an attack target (such as that of "Dreamsprite").[2] There are also card effects that allow a player's opponent to choose their attack targets for them, such as that of "Patrician of Darkness".

See also

Notes

  1. Players can be considered "attack targets", in context of the texts of "Construction Train Signal Red", "Patrician of Darkness" and the UDE rulings of the latter card.

References

  1. Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 9.1. pp. 34. http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/File:Rulebook_v9.1.pdf.
  2. "Individual Card Rulings [D-E]". UDE. Dreamsprite. Archived from the original on 18 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090218205242/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=D&last=E. Retrieved 30 January 2016. "If you control "Dreamsprite", "The Legendary Fisherman", and "Umi" is on the field, "Dreamsprite"’s effect can still change an attack target to "The Legendary Fisherman" because he is not being targeted with an attack, but is being targeted with a monster effect."

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki